There is a lot of talk about the PCI/DSS standard, but what does it mean?

There is a lot of talk about the PCI/DSS standard, but what does it mean?

The PCI/DSS standard, to get straight to the point, is the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (hence the name PCI DSS). It is a data security standard. It's the standard that enables the security of online payment methods.

Which card networks are affected by the PCI DSS standard? 

This standard is managed by the 5 largest card networks:

- Visa

- MasterCard

- American Express

- Discover Card


Originally, each card network had a specific program. On December 15, 2004, the PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) was created. As a result, the 5 card networks aligned to appear with the PCI DSS standard.

Why was this standard implemented?

To avoid the main security problems due to online card payments. This increased the control of cardholder information. The aim is to reduce the fraudulent use of payment instruments. 

Serenity takes the security of online payments very seriously. Our objective is the serenity of both the seller and the consumer.


PCI DSS compliance allows verification of the implemented control points and demonstrates that they are effective in protecting bank card data. The 5 card networks do not all require PCI DSS, only Visa and MasterCard impose it on their vendors or suppliers.

It is worth noting that issuing banks are not obliged to validate the PCI DSS standard, but they must nevertheless do what is necessary to secure sensitive data in a way that complies with the standard.

Serenity ensures PCI DSS compliance for maximum security for online payments.

Click here to find out more about the services Serenity offers